The Third Forensic Symposium and Annual General Meeting of Medico-Legal Society of Nepal was held at Kathmandu Medical College, Sinamangal on 15th of September 2018. The opening ceremony was chaired by Rt. Hon’ble Chief Justice Om Prakash Mishra. Distinguished dignitaries included CEO of Kathmandu Medical College – Dr. Damodar Pokhrel, Attorney General Agni Kharel, Chief of CID, Nepal Police – AIGP Dhiru Basnyat, Head of Mission, ICRC – Mr. André Pacquet, Dr. Guna Raj Lohani, Ministry of Health, Prof. Hemang Dixit and Prof. Ramesh Kant Adhikari.

The programme was conducted by Department of Forensic Medicine, Kathmandu Medical College, with the help of 32 volunteers from Leo Club, Kathmandu Medical College. The technical session included Prof. Hemang Dixit, who spoke about the history of Forensic Medicine in Nepal, Prof. Ramesh Kant Adhikari, who spoke about Medical Ethics. Dr. Uwom O. Eze, ICRC Forensic Advisor to Nepal, conducted a session on the significance and development of Humanitarian Forensics. Mr. Gauri Pradhan, International Coordinator of LDC Watch and a former Commissioner of NHRC, concluded the technical session with a discussion on the importance of Forensic Medicine in investigation of war crimes.

The Third Annual General Meeting of MeLeSoN was conducted post-lunch. Dr. Eugen Dolma, treasurer of MeLeSoN presented the financial report of MeLeSoN. Past President Prof. Harihar Wasti presented on all activities performed by the society. Following this, the general meeting approved auditing the finances of the society.


The session ended with the formation of the new executive committee, led by Dr. Rijen Shrestha, Lecturer at Department of Forensic Medicine, Maharajgunj Medical Campus, Institute of Medicine as the President for a 2-year term. The executive committee includes:

  1. President – Dr. Rijen Shrestha, Institute of Medicine
  2. Past-President – Prof. Harihar Wasti, Ministry of Health
  3. Vice-President – Dr. Shivendra Jha, BP Koirala Institute of Health Sciences
  4. Secretary – Dr. Jenash Acharya, Kathmandu Medical College
  5. Treasurer – Dr. Eugen Dolma, Institute of Medicine
  6. Member – Dr. Nuwadatta Subedi, Gandaki Medical College
  7. Member – Dr. Alok Aatreya, Dev Daha Medical College
  8. Member – Dr. Ashish Shrestha, BP Koirala Institute of Health Sciences
  9. Member – Dr. Samjhana Ghimire, Patan Academy of Health Sciences


Leave a Reply